The WAR series takes place in a slightly altered reality. Fifteen years ago, the nations of West Africa underwent a brutal period of civil war. These internal wars led to armed conflict between neighbors. When the fighting finally ceased, some countries of West Africa had merged and others had split. The books take place in this new geopolitical reality.

As the years passed, corruption once again reared its head. A new rebel group calling itself the African Freedom Army (AFA) has formed, promising economic and political freedom. Through a vicious campaign of violence, they seek to drive all foreigners out of West Africa and unite the area into a completely autonomous region. West Africans who disagree with AFA's narrow definition of what it means to be a loyal West African and/or their violent methods are targeted and killed.

The West African Rangers (WAR) is an underground political and military organization founded by Kwame Azumah, a former prime minister of Côte d'Ivoire. WAR's mission is to protect both citizens and foreigners from the uncompromising edicts and violence of the rebels and to return peace and democracy to the region. WAR also believes AFA wants to turn West Africa into a staging area for terrorist attacks against the rest of the world.

The series focuses mainly on WAR's military arm, their fight against AFA and its allies, and the civilians who end up trapped between the two.

Here's a piece I wrote about my time in West Africa and why I decided to write this series.


The order of the novels is:

  1. WAR: Disruption​
  2. WAR: Intrusion
  3. WAR: Opposition​
  4. WAR: Retaliation (Coming Soon)
WAR: Disruption Book 1 in the WAR Series
WAR: Intrusion Book 2 in the WAR Series
WAR: Opposition Book 3 in the WAR Series
WAR Retaliation Coming Soon


    These are some African musicians I've been listening to while writing the WAR series:

    1. Angélique Kidjo
    2. Ladysmith Black Mambazo
    3. Syran Mbenza
    4. Habib Koite & Bamada


    Amazon offers an ebook bundle of the following books. If you already own one of the books, Amazon will just charge you for the books you don't already own.

    WAR: Disruption, WAR: Intrusion, and WAR: Opposition. Here's the link: WAR Bundle.


    Includes newsletter exclusive content

    such as deleted scenes,

    fun facts, and short stories.